ExpoActive
So, I decided to toss an ad in the sidebar for a few days to see if anyone was interested in it. Its from ExpoActive, which claims to have the most relevance of any network. Their thing is that you choose the ad to display, and I think they choose which ads to offer to you. The problems: They only let you display three ad units, no more or less, and if you aren’t being offered more than just one ad, that can look very silly. On the other hand, I know what the price per click is on the one ad, and it’s pretty good. You can see what the actual ad code looks like in the left sidebar.
Another problem is that the first (top) ad seems to have a referral code (presumably so they know it was clicked, while the others doesn’t. Since I decided I didn’t like three of the same ad, and I didn’t want to put an ad that doesn’t pay out, I formatted the ad text and dumped it in the right sidebar. Most likely, I’ve broken a rule or three in doing so, but I don’t care, since I won’t exactly be swimming in cash from this thing. Hey, at least I got a blog post out of it!
So, maybe they’ll cancel my ad because I reformatted it. Maybe they’ll cancel it because I’m giving them a less than stellar review. Do I care? However, if you are interested in checking out their network, since the only ad they gave me is an ad for themselves you can check it out and let me know what you think of them, and maybe swing a few bucks my way in the process. Oh, and let me know if you clicked on the ad on the right so I can see if the referral link works absent the ad script.





Hiya,
I clicked on the expoactive ad FYI - did ya get paid?…lol. Everyone wants to know…
d.
Comment by dreamer | June 12, 2005
I clicked too, how many mone did you earn yet?
We can trust in expoactive?
Comment by Chavy | June 15, 2005
You certainly can. I’ve earned $280 in clicks from Expoactive so far, $200 of which I have already been sent checks for. So yes, you can trust them just fine.
Comment by Nathan Weinberg | June 15, 2005
OK, but you receive the check yet (you have it in your hands) or only receive a mail telling you that they send it to you?.
Comment by Chavy | July 11, 2005
Chevy, the checks are cashed and the money is sitting in my bank account. Trust me, if they were cheating me, I wouldn’t shut up about it.
Comment by Nathan Weinberg | July 11, 2005
Thanks Nathan, I was looking for a solid reference for these guys. I’m gonna throw up a few ads, see how it goes. If you have anything further to say, changed your opinion, then ping me a whole bunch.
Comment by Randy Charles Morin | August 31, 2005
Actually, something did change. I got another check :-). $300 so far.
Comment by Nathan Weinberg | August 31, 2005
I don’t know about them, they sent me the first check for $100, but $400 later they are holding my check saying something about fraudulent clicks. Bull!
Comment by anonymous | September 8, 2005
That’s surprising. I’ve been doing just fine.
Comment by Nathan Weinberg | September 8, 2005
[…] I did a quick Google search and came up with some forum threads about ExpoActive, as well this review from ppc-forums.com. Hmm, not very impressive. […]
Pingback by Have you been solicited lately by ExpoActive? » PPC primer | September 26, 2005
I run a few websites. I noticed a few non-traditional emails that came in from a contact form over the weekend on one of my sites. They appeared to be attempts to send mail through my form. After checking the log file, I traced the IP address back to “ExpoActive.net”. Why in the hell would they be looking for open forms if they weren’t spammers?
Comment by Probed by Expoactive? | September 28, 2005
Expoactive.com is their URL. I don’t know who the .net is.
Irregardless, I offer no opinion on Expoactive’s marketing techniques or relevancy. All I’m saying is that I got over $300 from them, and I ain’t complaining.
Comment by Nathan Weinberg | September 28, 2005
expoactive.net and expoactive.com are the same company. If you do a whois on expoactive.net
http://whois.sc/expoactive.net
and then click on the link to the website, it leads you to expoactive.com.
Comment by anonymous | October 10, 2005
How much do they pay you per click? And I’ve been hearing nothing positive about Expoactive so sghuld I advertise with them or not? For all we know, Nathan could be working for Expoactive! *gasps*
Comment by LeeDeeYa | October 23, 2005
Yeah, that’s it! I write 2,000 articles a year so as to draw attention to the one article on Expoactive…
But seriously, I’ve got nothing but good things to say. Its a single link, and its earned me a few hundred bucks. What to complain about?
Comment by Nathan Weinberg | October 23, 2005
Hi Nathan,
just wanted to advise that there is a broken link:
Control Every
Aspect of Your Ads
& Bid By Keyword or
Publishers URLs!
www.expoactive.com going to:
http://www.expoactive.com/ads/redir.php?id=187
# Go to Microsoft Product Support Services and perform a title search for the words HTTP and 404.
# Open IIS Help Blah Blah
The redir.php looks like it’s not working in IIS. That’s insane, they are using php over Microsft IIS ?
Someone can clarify this ?
Oh Yes, and I got an email from them too !
Comment by Martin | October 25, 2005
Hello,
I’m also having a nice experience with expoactive. However, few weeks after I started to publish their ads, our site dropped badly in Google’s SERP. From being top 10 position for many search strings (handcrafted jewelry, handcrafted rings, handmade wedding jewelry, etc.) we dropped deep into the darkness. At the same time MSN still shows us in top 10 position for the same keywords.
Could it be that google penalizes us for using expoactive? Anyone had a similar experience?
TIA,
Shuki.
Comment by Shuki Wolfus | November 1, 2005
Sorry, wrong site address in my comment. Please correct to:
http://sarit-jewelry.com
Comment by Shuki Wolfus | November 1, 2005
They don’t pay, expoactive is definitely a [B]SCAM[/B]. I requested a payment of $105 more then one week ago, anf nothing happens , the site seem to be dead. Sent a lot of emails regarding my payment to every email addresses listed in site and : guest what ! no answer …
Comment by arhimede | December 7, 2005
I place a ad on this site and I was charged double on my credit card. I did not set it up for automatic payment but for manual and was charged twice for each payment. I place ads and was unable to find where the ads were loacted on the sites they were posted to. One site used my ads repeatly and I could not find them.
Comment by thunderloader | January 18, 2006
Got an email proposal from expoactive for an advertising placement. Are they naughty or nice?
This is the kind of ‘thing’ that a Spirit Card Reading can look into.
What do the Spirit Cards Say? If the Spirit Cards say GO…then will place ad…
Peace, Prosperity, Health and Happiness!
www.Madam-Mysterious.com
Comment by Madam Mysterious Spirit Card Readings | January 31, 2006
Yes, that’s technically a spam comment, but I laughed too much that I had to let it through.
Comment by Nathan Weinberg | January 31, 2006
According to the Spirit Cards…
Will ExpoActive.com bring prosperity?
Much mischief surrounds the issue but that is the nature of the Internet in general… all must wear proper protection on entering…
The sun will shine on a clearly illuminated path [of prosperity].
Take Care,
MM
Comment by Madam Mysterious Spirit Card Readings | January 31, 2006
Just got my first check from expoactive, $107.33
I run their ads and adsense at the same time, and neither company seems to mind.
Comment by Richard Gaddis | February 14, 2006
I’ve been trying for 2,5 months to get these guys to pay. I’m stubbornly still running their ads, but no cash so far…
Hope I can give better news soon…
Comment by William Hoenselaar | March 28, 2006
They got me. I put their ads on my website. And it’s true, they credited my account 45 cents for the first click. However my balance got stuck at 45 cents forever after. On the other hand, it is a good scam scheme to pay selectively. You pay all the noise makers, like this blogger, and don’t pay the rest. Smart!
Comment by Vi | April 2, 2006
I’ve been unable to approve ads for over a month. I’ve sent them countless support emails and they’ve never responded. I have about $200 in outstanding ads and their website has stopped working for me. I’ve tried dozens of computers, operating system browsers and their website doensn’t work on any of them. At one point, I had 2 of their top 32 publishing websites. These guys suck!
Comment by Randy Charles Morin | August 1, 2006
Reading these comments has convinced me to delete my invitation to run an expoactive ad on my website. Thanks.
Comment by Steve Stringer | October 24, 2006
I’ve been with ExpoActive since Dec 2004. I recently accepted ads for my site. My current balance is just over $570.00US. It will not let me withdraw it because $550.00 of the amount is under “direct ad balance”. I’ve written multiple emails to these people with NO response. I’m still running the ads on my site when they come through… but I’d like to know WHEN do they finally pay for the direct ad balance. Had ANYONE gotten paid by them using the Direct Ad Program? So frustrating!
Comment by Kymber Dreams | October 27, 2006
I too have not been paid in months… They use to pay, but have not for over 4 months now. I currently have $1247.41 in my account and am very upset with this company. They have not even responded to any of my emails for months. I even started this website www.expoactiveSUCKS.com to see if they would respond. A sure sign of problems should have been no phone contact info… can you say red flag?
Comment by David Fagle | December 12, 2006