Expedia Caught Spamming
SEO Black Hat has caught travel site Expedia (or at least the French version) spamming search engines, scoring the top ranking for “buy viagra“, “buy phentermine” and “buy cialis“, among many other top keywords. He says that Google is too afraid to ban such a prominent site, but I suspect we’ll see the pages dissapear, or the domain banned, by mid-week.
(via Digg)



[…] Apprendo infatti dal blog di Nathan Weinberg che Expedia, il noto portale dedicato al mondo dei viaggi online e dei pacchetti vacanze, con il suo dominio local Expedia.fr sta spammando i motori di ricerca, in particolare Google, per posizionarsi con keyword competitive che col turismo hanno davvero poco a che fare. […]
Pingback by Marketing Routes » Blog Archive » Search Engine Spam in pillole: Expedia e il Viagra | May 7, 2006
If you follow the comments on the post, you can see that it wasn’t Expedia spamming. They have a service that lets anyone create blogs, and so anyone could have created the pages that now rank highly on those google searches.
Comment by Niraj | May 7, 2006
That’s simply not true. It’s a free blog service, which is used for spamming.
You might also say myspace and wordpress.org are spamming too.
Comment by pip | May 8, 2006